CSU Conservatory Dancers Perform like Stars

Last Thursday night, Columbus State University’s University Hall was packed full of Columbus’ rising stars. Flashes of black leotards and pink tights were flying by my eyes from every direction.  It was the CSU Dance Conservatory’s dance recital and you could feel the excitement in the air.

I went back stage to get a glimpse of the stars before the show. A lot of the little ballerinas were ready to roll and keeping busy by playing games or coloring. The other ballerinas were having their mommies fix their hair. I’m not sure if it is known how difficult it is to put such little thin hair into a tight ballerina bun. It’s a lot of work and takes a lot of hair spray.

Lights up! Music on! The CSU Dance Conservatory
proudly presents, the Mickey Mouse Club!

I couldn’t get over how tiny the girls were compared to how large the stage is.  They were ready though. Confident four and five year olds they were. There were a few little slip ups, but it only made the performance more precious.

I’ve been watching the little girls practice over the semester, and their skills may not look too impressive to the audience, but to those that have been watching them throughout the semester it is very visible that their skills have greatly developed.  The girls work together and are a lot more coordinated than before.  What made the show was when one of them would help the other out.  If one of the ballerinas forgot their part, their friend would whisper or point which way to go.  The girls have been working very hard on their recital piece, but like everyone I’m sure nerves got to a few of them.  The audience roared with cheers for the petite ballerinas.  I was no different than anyone else, and clapped loudly and proudly for those girls.  They did a great job!

The program progressed with the beginning ballerinas first to the more advanced.  The girls and boys just only a year older than the beginning class were far more advanced.  It was apparent that their posture and grace was much more refined than girls a year younger.  Their skills and techniques also far advanced.  I was shocked that in just one year, how much the children had learned.

I was just imagining all of the little girls in the five year old class, and how one day they may be skillful ballerinas in only a few years.

I snuck back stage to get a few better pictures.  I’m really glad that I did too, because I could see up close how brilliant these ballerinas really were. I could really see the Conservatory Dancers “En Pointe.” En Pointe means “on the tip.” This is a classic ballet technique meant for the ballerinas to appear weightless. I must say, it truly does make these women seem as light as a feather and as graceful as an angel. It was amazing to watch them perform.  This has taken these young ladies years of practice and dedication, and I believe the audiences’ cheer filled their hearts up with joy.

The part that I loved the most about the entire night was all of the sweet fathers who brought their daughters flowers.  I played soccer, so my father never brought me flowers after I won soccer match, but instead he brought me a hamburger.  I guess if I had become a sophisticated and elegant dancer, maybe I would have gotten flowers too. I think every little girl walked out of that auditorium with a bouquet of colorful flowers from their daddies. It was really great to see parents supporting their children. I think that every dancer that night had to have felt loved and appreciated and hopefully, like a star.

Find out more about the CSU Dance Conservatory classes and summer programs.

— Contributed by Rebecca Holman

3 thoughts on “CSU Conservatory Dancers Perform like Stars

  1. THANK YOU FOR COMING TO WITNESS THE MAGIC OF THE CONSERVATORY. IT IS REALLY AN EXPERIENCE TO COME AND OBSERVE THE DANCERS’ PROGRESS AND ANOTHER IS TO COME BACKSTAGE AND WITNESS THE EXCITEMENT OF THE MOMENTS PRIOR TO GO “ON STAGE”. IT IS SOMETHING THAT AFTER A LIFETIME DOING THIS, I DON’T SEEM TO EVER GET ENOUGH OF. WE HAVE THE BEST TEACHERS AND DANCERS!

Leave a Reply

