The Columbus Ballet Delivers an Outstanding Nutcracker Performance

If you went to see the Nutcracker at the RiverCenter,  you already know how amazing this performance was. Since this was my first time going to a ballet performance, I didn’t really know what to expect. Although I did expect there to be beautiful ballerinas, the grandeur of the show caught me off guard. The stage was lavishly decorated with perfect lighting, and the performers were extravagantly dressed giving the show a magical Christmas ambiance. I think everyone had to have left with a warm fuzzy feeling that night.

In the beginning of the performance, I was initially pleased with the obvious effort to make this a magical moment for the audience because of the superior quality of everything involved. From time to time you’ll see ballet on TV or maybe online, but for me I never took the time to appreciate ballerinas’ talent until I watched them in person. It’s very cool to see how they can make ballet look so fluid and effortless. As I was watching them dance, all I could do was imagine myself trying to do the same moves and realizing how hard it would be. I definitely have to give them props for being able to keep the pace, balance and strength to perform like that.

My favorite part was the sugar plum fairy’s dance which happened to be portrayed by Anna Rodriquez. She was absolutely flawless in her performance. The perfect touch was added when the light hit her jeweled outfit and tiara making her glimmer from head to toe. It was such an awesome performance. Bravo to the Columbus Ballet for working so hard!

If your little one was swept away by the magic of the ballet you may want to consider registering them for upcoming ballet classes. They’ll have a chance to learn from other experienced ballerinas such as Anna Rodriquez, who happens to be an instructor at the CSU Dance Conservatory, official school of the Columbus Ballet. For more information, visit http://ballet.columbusstate.edu/ or call 706.507.8070.

-Kindra Hunter

Leave a Reply

